![]() |
| "Pardon me, but have you seen my spading fork?" |
I unabashedly love Mad Max Fury Road.
But I’ve heard others say, ‘What’s the point?’, ‘How can you
watch a 2 hour chase scene?’, and my favorite: ‘There’s no plot!’. So, I
thought I’d list why I think this is the movie to beat this summer.
- It’s a movie about second chances.
This is as much a story about George Miller’s redemption, as
it is about Max Rockatansky’s. Think about it .. when’s the last time you
watched a movie directed by George Miller? His last films were Happy Feet and
its sequel. Enticingly (and perhaps even surprising at the time), he was about
to direct a Justice League Film, but that fell through at the very last minute
as it got eaten up by Australian tax laws. So, not only has Mr. Miller made a
return to what he does best after years, but he’s made one of the best action
movies of all time! Also, he’s done this at the ripe old age of 70. Not that
his age is a deciding factor in the quality of the movie, but c’mon! Who would
have thought it possible that Hollywood would have banked on him to deliver?
Which brings me to my next point …
- Hollywood put its money where its mouth is and
takes a huge risk.
Hollywood has long been accused of playing it safe, parading
an endless parade of sequels, and remakes that cater to the key demographic of
teens. For once, they made something original and epic. Sure, arguably, Mad Max
Fury Road is the fourth in the Max franchise, but the last film was released in
1985, and had its root in a small cult Australian film that was first released
in 1979. So, an entire ticket buying generation has gone by, that isn’t
familiar with the Max mythos. It’s a huge risk, and one that pays off in
spades, particularly given its rumored $ 150Mn budget.
- The ladies kick ass!
I must admit that as a father of a little girl, I often find
myself critically evaluating how women are portrayed in films. More often than
not, even female independence and empowerment, is presented as a back handed
compliment: The old Modi refrain, “Despite being a woman ..”. Or worse, rescued
from her squalid circumstances by a prince charming: The worst kind of cliché
there is. But, here, we’re presented with a number of key female characters –
each of them complicated and unpredictable. Max might be grudgingly helping
them, but Charlize Theron’s Furiosa is a force of nature. Feminine and in
charge, I’d argue that there hasn’t been a stronger female role model on film
in the last 5 years. Never reduced to a stereotype, Furiosa is a layered
character, whose motivations are fueled by her own sense of injustice, and I
thought her character shined brightest not just in the victories, but also her
moments of defeat.
- It’s a visual spectacle.
Fast 7 came out earlier this year, and as much as I enjoyed
it, I’ve got to say that visually, it isn’t a patch on Mad Max. Right from the
first trailer, Warner Bros made sure that people knew that this was unlike
anything seen before. The chase scenes are unreal! I was under the assumption
that most of everything on screen was shot using practical effects, (and was
slightly disappointed and surprised to learn that there was so much CG) because
the staging of the action, and the set pieces are so well designed and
articulate, that you can’t help but be swept up in the action. The chase
through the sand storm, the scene at night, where the group is being stalked by
Imortan Joe’s men, the kamakazi spears, the spray painted teeth in preparation
of Valhalla – there’s just too many things to list. Outside of the chases too,
there’s a lot to marvel at. The production design and costumes are stellar. Imortan
Joe’s base is something you’d get if you crossed a Bond villain’s lair, with
well, the end of the world. Everything from the waterfalls, to his plantations,
to the moat that literally allows access to power, are thought through to the
last detail. The vehicles are as much characters in the film, as are the
actors. Basically, the design of the film is inspiring, and strangely
pragmatic, and leaves you awe inspired.
- It’s Shakespeare on Acid.
Performances normally get swallowed by spectacle in such
movies, but thankfully the acting on this film, anchors the spectacular in a
sense of realism and gravity. I’ve already mentioned Charlize, but what about
Tom Hardy? His greatest hits include his performances in ‘Locke’, and ‘Bronson’,
and he brings as much thought and madness to what could have easily have been a
one note role. His Max is a guttural, mumbling and often conflicted anti-hero,
and the the film is better off for it. Hugh Kaeyes Byrne too is good, bringing
an operatic and larger than life sense to the proceedings. Even Megan Gayle
(who was originally cast as Wonder Woman in Miller’s version) as Valkyrie,
gives the third act a boost, with her brief but memorable role.
- It’s just plain fun. What else would you want
from a summer movie!?!?
You may argue that ‘Avengers: Age Of Ultron’, was as good,
but it wasn’t. Mad Max is a result of a mad alchemist, who was never told where
to draw the line. Left to his devices, Miller has crafted an impossible box of
explosives. A fireworks display that is as thought provoking as it is awe
inspiring, and these days, that’s a rare quality to aspire to.

No comments:
Post a Comment